OUR MISSION

The purpose of Tender Mercies is to provide housing and supportive services for homeless adults with the histories of severe mental illness. Our permanent supportive housing model addresses the root causes of homelessness, thereby preventing a return to the streets for our region's most vulnerable persons.


Our History

In 1985, hundreds of individuals with mental illness were trying to survive on the streets of Over-the-Rhine due to a lack of sufficient support programs. The psychiatric beds in Hamilton County were reduced from 4,000 to 400, with the belief that the patients could live on their own in the community with support programs. leaving these men and women desperate, hungry, and isolated with nowhere to go. Fr. Chris Hall and two other clergymen, Randy La Fond and Edward Slater, knew they must do something. Tender Mercies began with these clergymen helping Betty and Maude, two women released from the hospital with nothing but cab fare to a shelter.

They secured an apartment for them, applied for their Social Security benefits, and helped them get medical treatment. Sadly, within months, one of the women was brutally raped and the other murdered. Determined to prevent this from happening to others, they became the building managers and saved the lives of 12 more women. Over the past 33 years, Tender Mercies has saved the lives of over 2,500 homeless adults with mental illness from a life of barely surviving on the streets - hungry, cold, and alone.

With the support of many compassionate donors and funders, Tender Mercies has grown to six buildings located in Over-the-Rhine. Each year, nearly 200 homeless men and women with mental illness rebuild their lives in their home at Tender Mercies. Some of these individuals have been homeless for years, living on the streets, under bridges and in other places unfit for human habitation. Others were successful business professionals whose mental illness turned their lives upside down.


_S5A4111.jpg

WHO WE ARE

Vision
To be the premier provider of permanent supportive housing for homeless adults with mental illness.

Mission
Tender Mercies transforms the lives of homeless adults with mental illness by providing security, dignity, and community in a place they call home.

Purpose
Tender Mercies provides a home with caring support to adults with mental illness struggling to survive. We make it possible for men and women experiencing the trauma of homelessness with mental illness to recover and rebuild.

Compassion drives us to create Security, Dignity, and Community

We believe in the opportunity to thrive and grow

Transformation inspires us and brings hope and promise

We are Tender Mercies. Making Home Possible Every Day


LOCATIONS

Main Office

27 West 12th Street Cincinnati, OH 45202
513-721-8666 Phone
513-639-7037 Fax 

location-harkavyW.jpg

HARKAVY HALL

location-danaW.jpg

DANA HOTEL

location-havenW.jpg

HAVEN HALL

 
location-RaceW.jpg

RACE STREET RESIDENCE

location-havenW.jpg

PSH2

Pleasant+House+Choice+1.jpg

PLEASANT STREET

 
16009_821_Ezzard_R16_mthurnauer.rvt_2017-Oct-23_05-54-49PM-000_3D_View_6_png.jpg

THE 821 FLATS – Coming in 2019

 

Board of Trustees

 

STAFF

SENIOR Team

TM_Staff_Winters-6293.jpg

Russell Winters

Chief Executive Officer
rwinters@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7054

Randy+Damron.jpg

Randy Damron

Finance Director
rdamron@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7030

Winsome+Wilson.jpg

Winsome Wilson

Human Resource Director
humanresources@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7026

Kelli+Halter.jpg

Kelli Halter

Chief Operating Officer
khalter@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7020

Josh+Burgess.jpg

Josh Burgess

Facilities Management Director
jburgess@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7022

Jackie+Baumgartner.jpg

Jackie Baumgartner

Development Director
jbaumgartner@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7021

Mary+Grover.jpg

Mary Grover

Support Services Director
mgrover@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7042

 

Management Team

REgan+side.jpg

Regan Adams

Living Skills Coordinator
radams@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7052

Redonica+Banks.jpg

Redonica Banks

Service Coordinator
rbanks@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7052

Tori+Dixon.jpg

Tori Dixon

Income and Benefits Manager
tdixon@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7040

 
John+Drummonds.jpg

John Drummonds

Compliance Coordinator
jdrummonds@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7053

RJF_Headshot2018-5891.jpg

Rudy Frank

Volunteer Coordinator
volunteer1@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7027

Taylor+Rich.jpg

Taylor Rich

Special Events Coordinator
trich@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7056

 
Jawanza+Salih.jpg

Jawanza Salih

Service Coordinator
jsalih@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7046

Jessica+Siderio.jpg

Jessica Siderio

Development Coordinator
jsiderio@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-0559

Kathy+Svensson.jpg

Kathy Svensson

Housing After Care Coordinator
ksvensson@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-0540

 
 
Stacey+Witherspoon.jpg

Stacey Witherspoon

Service Coordinator
switherspoon@tendermerciesinc.org
513-639-7033

 

FINANCIALS